top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureD Michelle Young

On Writing


I have had people ask me, "how did you learn to write?" My answer...I didn't and I haven't! And what I mean by that is writing is an ongoing learning process. I have not learned everything there is to know about writing and I doubt I ever will. But I will keep writing because I love it and hopefully one day I will get that bestseller...and of course after that it will become even harder because of the pressure to do it again. Don't let anyone tell you writing is easy because it's NOT...unless you're Stephen King or J.K. Rowling...they make it look easy! And there are literally thousands of books on writing...how to develop your characters, how to structure your book, what your plot should look like, the list goes on and on. I've read a few books and I do have a couple that I reference, but for the most part; I just write. I don't do outlines or charts- not that there's anything wrong with that, it's just not for me. I have a ridiculous number of notebooks that I write down story ideas and characters in and then I start typing. Some authors can't start a book without an outline and a detailed description of each one of their characters. That just feels too restrictive to me...BUT, if it will help me sell books, I'll try it!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more!

DMY

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#StayingHome

Well, one good thing about this forced quarantine is it has given me time to FINALLY finish this site! No, honestly, I could have finished it a while ago...I just got a little lazy. Anyway, here it is

bottom of page